MindBacklog vs ChatPRD: where the spec starts.
ChatPRD drafts product docs from notes, transcripts or a single sentence (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026). MindBacklog's Build Pack starts from your users' evidence and keeps going after launch.
14 days free. No card needed.
Where they're similar
- Both write product documents with AI, and both hand the result to coding agents. ChatPRD lists Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, ChatGPT, Claude, VS Code and Windsurf as MCP clients (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026). MindBacklog's Build Pack is copied for Claude Code or Cursor, pasted into Lovable as a short prompt, or pulled over MCP.
- Both are built for founders and small product teams. ChatPRD describes its users as product managers and founders (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026); MindBacklog is written for founders who build with coding agents first.
- Both connect to the tools around the build. ChatPRD names Linear, Notion, Jira, GitHub, Slack, Microsoft Teams and Granola (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026). MindBacklog connects GitHub for commit titles, Stripe, PostHog, Slack and your AI tools; every tool you connect lives in one place.
The spec starts from your users, and keeps going after launch.
What MindBacklog does, in its own words.
Evidence behind every claim
Every piece of feedback, sorted into problems ranked by who has them, with the quotes behind each. Your users rank first. Public posts and competitor reviews are shown, never counted. Track what you believe and how strong the evidence is: praise never counts as proof.
The build handoff with the why
Your coding agent pulls the Build Pack: why it matters, who it's for, the metric, and the must-haves with acceptance criteria. Every section names its source, and the only numbers are counts. The pack also says what's already broken and what already exists.
The loop after launch
When it ships, tell the people who asked: Mind drafts a note to each, with their own words. You send it. Did it work? MindBacklog checks your prediction against what happened, from the source you chose. You decide, and the lesson stays in your record.
Mind pushes back
Mind shows you what argues against you before it agrees. When your data has nothing on a question, Mind says so, and what would change the answer.

Side by side, as of 1 Nov 2026
The ChatPRD column quotes their own pages, dated. Where it is silent, we say so.
| Capability | MindBacklog | ChatPRD |
|---|---|---|
| Where the spec starts | From the feature page, its documents, its stories and the feedback linked to it. Every section of a Build Pack names its source, and the only numbers are counts. | They say "from notes, meeting transcripts, or a single sentence", with context from connected tools. Their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| What the coding agent receives | The Build Pack: why it matters, who it's for, the metric, the must-haves with acceptance criteria, known issues, the evidence, what already exists and what it touches. | They say a hosted MCP server and REST API; the spec can be opened in v0, Lovable, Bolt or Cursor. Their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Coding agents named | Copy it for Claude Code or Cursor, paste a short prompt into Lovable, or let your agent pull it over MCP. Growth and Scale. | They say Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, ChatGPT, Claude, VS Code and Windsurf, with OAuth sign-in. Their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Keeping the spec current through the build | Ask your coding agent to map your product for MindBacklog. Every Build Pack then says what already exists, where the work fits and what it touches. The pack says when it was last pulled and whether the spec changed since. | They say version history on documents. Their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Feedback ranked by your own users | Every piece of feedback, sorted into problems ranked by who has them, with the quotes behind each. Under 30 pieces, Mind says "Not ranked" and why. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Beliefs on an evidence ladder | Track what you believe and how strong the evidence is: praise never counts as proof. Your own words never count as evidence. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Checking a request before saying yes | Test a request against what your users actually said, for and against. The verdict is counted from people, never written by the model. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Reviewing a document | Ask for approval names who checks what; approving freezes the version. Documents say whether feedback has arrived since they were last edited. | They say scores on strategy, structure, clarity and completeness, with line-level edits. Their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| After launch | Tell the people who asked: Mind drafts a note to each, with their own words. You send it. Did it work? MindBacklog checks your prediction against what happened. You decide. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Competitors | Watch a competitor and Mind reads its site, pricing, help center, changelog, status page and app reviews. Every read is dated and sourced. If it isn't in their docs, Mind says so. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| What leaves your workspace | A Build Pack never carries a customer's name, email, company, plan or revenue. Mind's AI gets a key like C-12, never a name or email from People. | Not stated on their homepage. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Price | From $14.99 per seat a month billed yearly (Starter $14.99, Growth $24.99, Scale $39.99), or $17.99, $29.99 and $47.99 billed monthly. 14-day trial, no card. | They say $15 a month billed annually. Their pricing page, read 6 Oct 2026 |
Sources: ChatPRD's homepage (chatprd.ai), read 1 Nov 2026; ChatPRD's pricing page, read 6 Oct 2026 in our market research. MindBacklog's column describes the new MindBacklog as its in-app guides state it. We never say what ChatPRD lacks; "not stated" means their homepage did not mention it on the day we read it.
Pick by the job in front of you.
Who should pick ChatPRD
- You want a PRD in minutes from a sentence or a meeting transcript, and you have no user feedback to work from yet.
- Your team already writes documents to a template and wants 50+ templates and a scoring review (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026).
- You are a larger product org that wants shared projects, enterprise search and admin controls (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026).
Who should pick MindBacklog
- You have users, or want to find them first, and you want the spec to start from what they said rather than what you remember.
- You build with Claude Code, Cursor or Lovable and want the agent to know why, who it's for, and what already exists.
- You want the loop to keep going after launch: tell the people who asked, check the prediction, keep the lesson.
- You want an AI that shows you your own data against you before it agrees, and says "Not ranked" or "nothing in your data yet" instead of filling the gap.
Is MindBacklog a PRD writer like ChatPRD?
It writes PRDs, but from evidence it keeps. A document can start from a prompt in Ask Mind, or with New from evidence, which quotes only its sources. The Build Pack a coding agent receives is written from the feature page, its documents, its stories and the feedback linked to it. Every section of a Build Pack names its source, and the only numbers are counts.
Do both work with Claude Code, Cursor and Lovable?
ChatPRD says it offers a hosted MCP server and lists Claude Code, Cursor and others as clients (their homepage, read 1 Nov 2026). It also says it can open a spec in Lovable, v0, Bolt or Cursor. MindBacklog: copy the Build Pack for Claude Code or Cursor, paste a short prompt into Lovable, or let your agent pull it over MCP. Your AI tools over MCP are on the Growth and Scale plans.
Can I use ChatPRD and MindBacklog together?
Paste it into a new document in Build › Documents. MindBacklog keeps it as written, and Mind can suggest edits to one section from your feedback, with the earlier version kept.
What does a coding agent see about my customers in a Build Pack?
Outside your workspace, your customers are counts, not people. A Build Pack carries feedback counts by channel and up to five short quotes labelled by channel only, with names, companies and contact details taken out; a shared link carries counts only. Neither carries a customer's email, plan or revenue.
How much does MindBacklog cost?
From $14.99 per seat a month billed yearly (Starter $14.99, Growth $24.99, Scale $39.99), or $17.99, $29.99 and $47.99 billed monthly. 14-day trial, no card. Viewers are free. AI use is bounded by a monthly AI allowance, with credits for the actions you start. There are no weekly caps. ChatPRD's price, per our research of 6 Oct 2026 against their pricing page: $15 a month billed annually. Re-check their page for today's price.
Start the spec from the evidence.
Pull one Build Pack. Compare it with the PRD you would have typed.
- 14 days free
- No card needed
- Viewers are free
