MindBacklog vs Jira Product Discovery: counted from your users, not scored by hand.
Jira Product Discovery scores ideas with custom fields and links them to Jira delivery (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026). MindBacklog counts evidence from your users, then checks the result.
14 days free. No card needed.
Where they're similar
- Both collect product ideas, feedback and requests in one place and keep the discovery work with them. Jira Product Discovery calls these ideas and insights (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026); MindBacklog calls them problems and feedback.
- Both publish a roadmap that shows why work is being done, and both let stakeholders respond. Jira Product Discovery names comments, votes and reactions on its product page (read 1 Nov 2026); MindBacklog has comments, @mentions and approvals.
- Both use AI on incoming feedback. Jira Product Discovery says it can "automatically capture customer feedback across any channel" and organise it (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026). Mind sorts every piece of feedback into problems with the quotes behind each.
Evidence is counted, and the prediction is written down.
Where MindBacklog puts its weight:
Evidence behind every claim
Every piece of feedback, sorted into problems ranked by who has them, with the quotes behind each. The strength words, Strong, Some or Weak, are decided by rule from counts, never by the model. Track what you believe and how strong the evidence is: praise never counts as proof.
The build handoff with the why
Your coding agent pulls the Build Pack: why it matters, who it's for, the metric, and the must-haves with acceptance criteria. Every section names its source, and the only numbers are counts. Acceptance criteria you can tick; a story is Ready only when it has them.
The loop after launch
Initiatives: the why above your features, a prediction written before you build, and one timeline. Mind fills in the metric and the check date; the number you expect is always yours. Did it work? MindBacklog checks your prediction against what happened. You decide.
Mind pushes back
Test a request against what your users actually said, for and against. The verdict is counted from people, never written by the model.

Side by side, as of 1 Nov 2026
The Jira Product Discovery column quotes their own product page, dated. Where it is silent, we say so.
| Capability | MindBacklog | Jira Product Discovery |
|---|---|---|
| Collecting ideas and feedback | A widget, web forms, a public portal, inbound email, Slack, app-store reviews, a REST API, and Drop anything for a thread, a transcript or a CSV. | They say opportunities, feedback and requests collected in one place; AI captures feedback "across any channel". Their product page, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Prioritisation | Problems ranked by who has them, from your users' feedback: how many, how many main customers, who pays, the trend. "Not ranked" under 30 pieces. You make the call, with a reason. | They say custom fields, scoring and a chosen prioritisation method; "built-in frameworks and consistent scoring". Their product page, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Quotes | In their words, exactly as written, with who said it, where and when. Public posts are marked "Not your user". | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Beliefs and evidence | Track what you believe and how strong the evidence is: praise never counts as proof. | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Checking a request | Test a request against what your users actually said, for and against. The verdict is counted from people, never written by the model. | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Roadmap | Initiatives in lanes with a time budget and a prediction; one timeline across every initiative and its features; a view-only roadmap link with nothing private on it. | They say shareable roadmaps that show why work is being done; stakeholders comment, vote and react, including people outside the organisation. Their product page, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| The prediction | Written before the build by the initiative's owner. Mind fills in the metric and the check date. The number you expect is always yours. | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Connection to delivery | Your coding agent pulls the Build Pack. Copy it for Claude Code or Cursor, paste a short prompt into Lovable, or let your agent pull it over MCP. Stories carry acceptance criteria you can tick. | They say product decisions linked to Jira execution so roadmaps stay in sync with delivery. Their product page, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| After launch | Tell the people who asked, in their own words; you send. Did it work? The prediction against what happened, from the source you chose. | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Competitors | Watch a competitor and Mind reads its site, pricing, help center, changelog, status page and app reviews. Every read is dated and sourced. | Not stated on their product page. Read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Who it is built for | Founders and small product teams who build software, many with a coding agent. | They say product teams, product operations and stakeholders; "25,000+ customers". Their product page, read 1 Nov 2026 |
| Price | From $14.99 per seat a month billed yearly (Starter $14.99, Growth $24.99, Scale $39.99), or $17.99, $29.99 and $47.99 billed monthly. 14-day trial, no card. Viewers are free. | Not quoted here; read their pricing page. Not in our research of 6 Oct 2026 |
Sources: Atlassian's Jira Product Discovery product page (atlassian.com/software/jira/product-discovery), read 1 Nov 2026; our market research of 6 Oct 2026. MindBacklog's column describes the new MindBacklog as its in-app guides state it. We never say what Jira Product Discovery lacks; "not stated" means their page did not mention it on the day we read it.
Pick by the job in front of you.
Who should pick Jira Product Discovery
- Your engineering runs on Jira and you want discovery in the same place, linked to delivery (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026).
- You want to score ideas with your own fields and a prioritisation framework you choose (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026).
- You are a larger organisation that wants outside stakeholders to comment, vote and react on a published roadmap (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026).
Who should pick MindBacklog
- You want the ranking counted from your own users and their words, not from fields someone filled in.
- You build with Claude Code, Cursor or Lovable, or with a few engineers who want the why with the ticket.
- You want every initiative to carry a prediction written before the build, checked on the date.
- You are a founder or a small team and want viewers free.
Questions about MindBacklog and Jira Product Discovery
Something else? Search the help center or email us.
We score ideas in Jira Product Discovery. How does MindBacklog rank?
Every night Mind works out each problem's evidence strength from your users' feedback: how many say it, how much comes from your main customers, who pays, and the trend. The drivers are shown. Under 30 pieces of feedback, Mind says "Not ranked" and why. You make the call on each problem, with a reason.
Our engineers live in Jira. Does that matter?
Jira Product Discovery says it links product decisions to Jira execution so roadmaps stay in sync with delivery (their product page, read 1 Nov 2026). MindBacklog hands work to the people who build as a Build Pack: why it matters, who it's for, the metric, and the must-haves with acceptance criteria. Copy it for Claude Code or Cursor, or let your agent pull it over MCP.
Can stakeholders comment and vote in MindBacklog?
Teammates comment with @mentions on initiatives, decisions, documents, features and stories, and approvals say who checked what. For people outside the team, a view-only roadmap link shows the initiatives with their why; it shows no feedback, no names, no revenue and no quotes. Your users vote on the public portal.
Can I bring my ideas and insights over?
Export them as CSV and drop them in. Drop anything takes a thread, a transcript or a CSV, and Mind shows where it'll go before filing it.
How much does MindBacklog cost?
From $14.99 per seat a month billed yearly (Starter $14.99, Growth $24.99, Scale $39.99), or $17.99, $29.99 and $47.99 billed monthly. 14-day trial, no card. Admins and editors take a seat; viewers are free. We don't quote Jira Product Discovery's price here; read their pricing page.
Count the evidence. Write the prediction.
Start with one initiative. Mind fills in the metric and the check date; the number is yours.
- 14 days free
- No card needed
- Viewers are free
